All About me  |  What I’ve Learnt Since I’ve Graduated. 

This week I travelled to Cheltenham for my brother’s graduation. It was an absolutely lovely time and I feel so proud of him for his achievements. It also made me think about how far I’ve come in a year, ( as I got my degree last July while I was at camp and attended my graduation last December). So I just wanted to share what I’ve learnt since graduating in the past year.

1. A university degree prepares you 0% for the world of work.

By this I mean many things. The first the time you’re at work. I got too used to 3 month summer holidays and months off at Easter and Christmas let alone the lack of actual contact hours I had to be in uni. My course had a relatively high amount of contact hours, 26 hours per week but this is just over half of a standard work week! Also the days where you only had to go in for one or two hours doesn’t compare to my 8.5 hour work days. In fact this is longer than a school day. Also, what I learnt in university is not of really any use in my current job. Bare in mind I studied Maths and Physics and currently build lasers. Even the skills I learnt during my course aren’t really of any consequence in the world of work. I do use some graph interpretation but no where near the amount of skills I thought I would.

2. The skills you learn which are useful.

These are the skills most call life skills. I learnt how to survive mostly solo. I did and still do phone my parents when I’m at a loose end but I can cook for myself and shop. I made a lot of useful mistakes at university which I feel have set me up pretty well for not. For instance, I’m useless at food shopping without a list; I always buy lots of yummy bits but with no real meals in mind. I now also like to plan out meals which compliment each other with ingredients so I have less waste. I know what to do if I get locked out of my apartment I don’t just dissolve into a mess, I sort it out.
3. Getting involved in extra circular activities is 100% a good idea.

Through these I got a job basically. It helps show you are a real person with real interpersonal skills. The skills you learn to communicate what you want and what you don’t in these social situations are priceless when it comes to work! Being able to ask someone to do something awful but will be really beneficial and them being ok with it is the most valuable skill. Also being able to voice when you don’t like something is so important!

4. This is not the end.

I worried so much when getting my degree and finding my first job that it had to be the right one. But now I’ve been working for almost a year I’ve discovered that, unless you are very lucky, no job is going to be the right one for me. I get bored easily and all jobs get boring. But also it doesn’t matter because usually, you don’t have to make much commitment to a job. Yes you don’t want to go through jobs like you do hot meals. But unlike university you don’t make a 3-4 year commitment to your job. It’s probably best to start and end up try a few to see what you do like. However, when I started where I work, the manager showing me around gave me some great advice; “don’t leave here with your CV looking the same”. So long as you continually gain skills there’s no harm done! Also going back to education is never ruled out either! I always wanted to do a masters or a PHD but at the time of the end of my bachelors degree I just needed a break but I know now I could always return to education! In fact , some places of work will even sponsor you or allow you study while you work part time!! Always worth a question!

 

All in all, I’m loving life and feel I’ve made great head way to what I want in life in general! I’m so proud of my brother and can’t wait for him to feel the same about his life!

TC
xoxo

Leave a comment